ARM Welcomes New Council & Committee Leaders

The council and committee members guide organizational priorities and act as a voice for ARM’s 200+ member organizations.  

July 2, 2019 – ARM is pleased to announce the addition of new leaders to its advisory councils and committees. This is the second term for the groups, each focused on providing members’ input on ARM’s core organizational areas.  

“The councils and committees are imperative to ARM’s success,” noted ARM CEO, Dr. Byron Clayton. “These groups allow us to leverage member expertise to proactively address needs in the membership. We are thankful to our members who have served in these roles and excited to welcome new voices.”  

Below is a breakdown of the changes to each council and committee: 

Stakeholder Executive Committee (SEC) 

The SEC is tasked with advising ARM on strategic business operations. Leaders on the SEC are empowered to form subcommitteesdrawing from the Member organizations, RRCs, TAC and EWACto assist ARM leadership in ongoing operations. They also assist in developing and updating the program plan, the business and sustainability plan, and performance metrics. 

The following ARM Members are additions to the SEC:  

  • Bob Doyle (A3/Robotic Industries Association)  
  • Shaun Edwards (PlusOne Robotics) 
  • Thomas Lichtenberger (Festo Didactic) 
  • Paul Evans (Southwest Research Institute) 
  • Ian Stern (ATI Industrial Automation) 

These members join Amanda Simpson (Airbus)Prabhakar Pagilla (Texas A&M University), Dave Rapaport (Siemens), Curtis Richardson (Spirit AeroSystems)Le Tang (ABB), and Greg Hudas (US Army TARDEC) on the committee.  

ARM would like to thank the following members who have concluded their service on the SEC: Martial Hebert (Carnegie Mellon University), Akshay Hari (Arconic), Robbie Mandelbaum (Lockheed Martin), and Krystyn Van Vilet (Massachusetts Institute of Technology.).  

Regional Collaborative Council (RCC) 

The Regional Collaborative Council provides ARM with critical intelligence about the regional robotics, manufacturing, and workforce efforts taking place across the nation. Council members will support ARM by providing advice regarding its regional priorities and activities, such as state funding opportunities, best practices, trends and challenges. 

The following ARM Members will be added to the RCC:  

  • Northeast Region: Ellen Piccioli (Worcester Polytechnic Institute) 
  • Southwest Region: Ana Greif (Pima Community College) 
  • Northwest Region: Justin Gradek (OMEP – Oregon Manufacturing Extension Partnership) 
  • Southeast Region: Chuck Ernst (Alabama Robotic Technology Park) 

These members join Dan Radomski (Optimal Process Technologies – Great Lakes Region), Chuck Spangler (South Carolina MEP – MEP Representative), Glenn Saunders (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute – Mid-Atlantic Region), Debbie Franklin (Wichita State University – North Central Region), Stavros Kalafatis (Texas A&M University – South Central Region), and Matt Minner (Catalyst Connection – MEP Representative).  

ARM thanks these representatives for their work in driving ARM’s initial regional strategy: Carlos Martinez (ABB – Northeast Region), Bill Smart (Oregon State University – Northwest Region), Venkat Krovi (Clemson University – Southeast Region), Gregg Profozich (California Manufacturing Technology Consulting/CMTC – Southwest Region).  

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) 

Leaders on ARM’s TAC drive the creation and iteration of the technical strategy, including the technology roadmap. TAC members also provide advice regarding potential technology synergies with other Manufacturing USA institutes to ensure a strong national manufacturing ecosystem. 

The following representatives have been nominated to the TAC:  

  • Jorgen Pederson (RE2 Robotics) 
  • Raminder Sandhu (California Manufacturing Technology Consulting/CMTC) 
  • Richard Kollaja (3M)  
  • Jared Glover (CapSen Robotics) 
  • Mark Krystofik (Rochester Institute of Technology) 
  • Greg Balandran (Spirit Aerosystems 
  • Martin Philo (GKN) 
  • Kristen Stone (Raytheon) 
  • Ted Rozier (Festo Didactic) 

These newly nominated representatives join the following members on the TAC: John Lizzi (GE), John Wen (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), SK Gupta (University of Southern California), Juan Aparicio (Siemens), Matt Robinson (Southwest Research Institute/SwRI), Philip Freeman (Boeing), Richard Voyles (Purdue University), Roger Christian (Yaskawa America Inc., Motoman Robotics Division), Elena Messina (NIST), and Steve Turek (Air Force Research Lab). 

The following representatives are stepping off the council. The entire ARM team thanks these ARM Members for their diligent work: Tom Fuhlbrigge (ABB), Kevin Barry (Lockheed Martin), Nathan McCall (BMW), Jeff Mendoza (United Technologies Research Center), and Holly Yanco (University of Massachusetts, Lowell).  

Education & Workforce Advisory Committee (EWAC)  

Leaders on ARM’s EWAC drive the design and deployment of the industry-partnered training and credentialing programs that will inspire, recruit, and prepare the future workforce. 

The following ARM Members have been elected to the EWAC: 

  • Ritch Ramey (RAMTEC) 
  • Scott Luca(Wichita Area Technical College) 
  • Robert Huschka (Robotic Industries Association/RIA)  
  • Greg Wilson (Pima Community College) 
  • Bob Graff (Yaskawa America) 
  • Jeannine Kunz (Tooling U-SME)
  • Tony Oran (Festo Didactic)  
  • Tiffany Powell (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute) 

These experts join the following ARM Members on the committee: Mike Gennert (Worcester Polytechnic Institute), Brian Wilson (Duro UAS), Doug Jensen (Rock Valley College), Nadja Koehler (ABB), Robin Fernkas (Dept of Labor), and Scott Leonard (ProMan Strategies). 

The following representatives have concluded their term on the EWAC. The ARM Team thanks these representatives for their work: Cindy Lawley (Texas A&M University), Ronald Marlow (National Urban League), Patrick Hillberg (Siemens), Ron Painter (National Association of Workforce Boards), Dion Jackson (University of Southern California), Mary Ann Pacelli (NIST), and Sarah Dagit (Phoenix First Response). 


Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing (ARM) is the nation’s leading collaborative in robotics and workforce innovation. Structured as a public-private partnership, we accelerate transformative robotic technologies and education to increase U.S. global manufacturing competitiveness. Founded in January 2017 in Pittsburgh, PA by Carnegie Mellon University, and funded by the Department of Defense, ARM is part of the Manufacturing USA® network. Learn more at Note: The ARM headquarters has relocated to Mill 19 A. Our updated main phone number is (412) 785-0444. Our address is: Mill 19 A Suite 200, 4501 Lytle St. Pittsburgh, PA 15207 

Recommended Posts